Clock fleur de lis

I don’t know about all the men out there, but for most women the resolution is to lose weight and exercise. I am evidently not that resolute.  For some reason there is a mindset that goes with the New Years Resolution that once you break it you are done.  FAILURE!  Throw it all out the window and go back to life as it was.

I decided a few years ago the resolutions were not for me. I am an expert at ripping myself apart and I don’t need one more thing to pile on.  So last year I set goals and I would work toward attaining them.  I can do goals, I have goals at work and I just work on it step by step.  One of the keys is ACTION.  You have to DO SOMETHING.  Well I did well for a while last year, but I was diagnosed with Hashimoto’s Thyroiditis, which is basically that my antibodies think my thyroid is a foreign body and keep attacking it.  So my body is destroying my thyroid.  The only solution is to take thyroid medication and only eat chicken, fish and green veggies.  I have to read every label for seasonings to avoid gluten.  In other words, my goals went from attainable to monumental and I gave up on them and me for a while.  I can’t believe it was only a year ago that I found out.

In December I made some decisions about my life and how I am going to make life changes doable.  In 2016 I give myself permission to do these 5 things:

IMAG0271 Make Mistakes – I am allowing myself to be imperfect.  I can just keep trying different ways until I find the right way.

 

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA Do-Overs – I promised myself I would not just quit if my actions went astray.  I didn’t do it right away.  I get to start again everyday if I need to.

file0002122926741 Be Gentle with Myself -I am not allowed to be mean to myself.  I will be supportive and pick myself up when I fall.

file7261239211365  Take Baby Steps – Everything doesn’t need to be done all at one time.  One thing at a time, one day at a time.

file9151250497820  Adjust My Goals – Sometimes I set unrealistic goals, so I am allowing myself to tweak them as needed in order to succeed.

 

One thought on “5 Things I Promised Myself for 2016

Leave a Reply

